The Lahr von Leitis Academy & Archive
Home  |  Contact  |  Sitemap  |  Imprint / ©
  MISSION | FOUNDERS | ADVISORS | NEWS | PROJECTS | PRESS | ARCHIVE | PISCATOR AWARD | LINKS
    deutsch english      
 
 
 
 
 
 
The Lahr von Leitis Archive
Collecting – Preserving – Remembering
 
Anna Moffo
Anna Moffo
 
Anna Moffo was born on June 27, 1932 in Wayne, Pennsylvania. After having studied at the Curtis Institute in Philadelphia, she got a scholarship and went to Rome. In 1955, she had her debut in Spoleto, in 1956 she sang the role of Zerlina in Don Giovanni at the festival in Aix-en-Provence. One year later, Herbert von Karajan engaged her for the Salzburg Festival. In 1959 she gave her debut at the Metropolitan Opera in New York as Violetta. There she starred in more than 25 roles. In addition, she has sung on all the great opera stages of the world. In the 1960s and 1970s she was one of the leading sopranos world-wide. In 1999, when she celebrated the 40th anniversary of her debut at the Metropolitan Opera, New York City’s mayor Rudolph W. Giuliani declared March 2 Anna Moffo Day.
In May 1958, Anna Moffo made her first solo recording – a pure Mozart program, featuring the famous arias of Cherubino, Susanna, Despina, Konstanze, Zerlina and Pamina. She is accompanied by the Philharmonia Orchestra under the baton of Alceo Galliera.
Many more recordings and CD’s followed, among them Canteloube’s Songs of the Auvergne, for which she was awarded the Grand Prix du Disque, and Verdi Heroines, which received the Orfee d’or. Besides heer own television show, The Anna Moffo Show, she appeared in many opera films, such as La Traviata, Lucia di Lammermoor, La Belle Helene, Czardasfürstin and La Serva Padrona.
Since 1986 Anna Moffo had been the Honorary Artistic Director of Elysium. With great enthusiasm and energy she contributed her knowledge and talent to the trans-Atlantic cultural exchange promoted by Elysium. Especially dear to her heart was Elysium’s work of fostering the talent and development of young singers. 2001 she gave a master class in Bernried during one of Elysium’s International Summer Academies. This was her last trip to Europe. On March 9, 2006 she lost her brave, decade-long battle with cancer.
 

back to list Archive

  Home  |  Contact  |  Sitemap  |  Imprint follow us on:   Find us on Facebook FORWARD on YouTube Find our books on Amazon Fadumo Korn on Wikipedia Find us on Flickr   
     
© 2012 - 2017 The Lahr von Leitis Akademie Archive   •   All rights reserved   •   last update: 04.03.2013   •   provided by: Agentur AraArt

The Lahr von Leitis Academy & Archive
Home  |  Kontakt  |  Sitemap  |  Impressum / ©
  ZIELE | GRÜNDER | KURATORIUM | NEWS | ANGEBOTE | PRESSE | ARCHIV  | PISCATOR PREIS | LINKS
    deutsch english      
 
 
 
 
 
 
Das Lahr von Leitis Archive
Sammeln – Bewahren – Erinnern
 
Anna Moffo
Anna Moffo
 
Anna Moffo wurde am 27. Juni 1932 in Wayne, Pennsylvania geboren. Nach ihrer Ausbildung am Curtis Institute von Philadelphia kam sie als Stipendiatin nach Rom. 1955 debütierte sie in Spoleto, 1956 sang sie beim Festival in Aix-en-Provence die Zerlina in Don Giovanni, ein Jahr später verpflichtete Herbert von Karajan sie für die Salzburger Festspiele. 1959 gab sie ihr Debüt an der Metropolitan Opera als Violetta. In der Folgezeit hat sie dort in 25 großen Rollen brilliert. Darüber hinaus war Anna Moffo, die während der sechziger und zu Beginn der siebziger Jahre des 20. Jahrhunderts eine der führenden Sopranistinnen weltweit war, in allen großen Opernhäusern der Welt zu hören. Als sie 1999 ihr 40jähriges Bühnenjubiläum an der Metropolitan Opera feierte, erklärte New Yorks Bürgermeister Rudolph W. Giuliani den 2. März zum jährlichen Anna-Moffo Tag.
Im Mai 1958 nahm Anna Moffo ihr erstes Solo-Album auf. Es war ein reines Mozart-Programm, eingespielt mit dem Philharmonia Orchestra unter der Leitung von Alceo Galliera. Darauf ist sie in den berühmten Arien von Cherubino, Susanna, Despina, Konstanze, Zerlina und Pamina zu hören.
Viele weitere Platteneinspielungen und CD’s folgten, außerdem etliche Opernverfilmungen und eine eigene Fernsehserie in Italien, die Anna Moffo Show.

Seit 1986 war Anna Moffo Ehrenmitglied von Elysium. Mit großem Engagement setzte sie sich für die Idee des transatlantischen Kulturaustauschs ein, wie er von Elysium betrieben wird. Insbesondere die Förderung junger Nachwuchskünstler lag ihr am Herzen. 2001 gab sie in Bernried während der Internationalen Sommerakademie von Elysium eine Meisterklasse. Dies war ihre letzte Reise nach Europa. Am 9. März 2006 verlor sie in New York den tapferen jahrelangen Kampf gegen den Krebs, an dem sie seit 1996 erkrankt war.

 

zurück zur Übersicht Archiv

  Home  |  Kontakt  |  Sitemap  |  Impressum follow us on:   Find us on Facebook FORWARD on YouTube Find our books on Amazon Fadumo Korn on Wikipedia Find us on Flickr   
     
© 2012 - 2017 The Lahr von Leitis Akademie Archive   •   All rights reserved   •   last update: 07.02.2013   •   provided by: Agentur AraArt